Catalog » CD & DVD's » Essential Music » CD - Michael Bloomfield "San Francisco Nights"
Click to enlarge

Mike Bloomfield and Friends were a regular attraction at the Old Waldorf over a period of 6 months when this was recorded!

The transcendent moments captured on this CD are the basis for Mike Bloomfield's place in the pantheon of stellar guitarists and for his reputation as a complete original. These recordings are for those who not only appreciate great guitar playing but also want to better understand the legend that is Mike Bloomfield. The performances lay bare his genius: he was playing in his hometown, in front of and with his friends and he felt comfortable cutting lose. No expectations, no pressure, he was home... Mike Bloomfield and Friends was a regular attraction at the Old Waldorf over a period of 6 months, from Dec. 1976 through May, 1977. He enlisted rock and blues royalty to play with him, including Barry Goldberg, Nick Gravenites, Mark Naftalin and other luminaries and they were recorded by legendary producer Norman Dayron. He went on to produce ''Sweet Blues: A Film About Mike Bloomfield'' that nicely bookends his relationship with Bloomfield. Many years after his death, Bloomfield still exerts a gravitational pull over anyone who heard his ground breaking blend of blues-rock guitar power and modal improv. The Old Waldorf was a music venue located in San Francisco, California. The famous club was located at 444 Battery St, and was originally opened by Jeffrey Pollack in 1976 before selling it to Bill Graham who closed it in 1983 During its time, Old Waldorf hosted some of the biggest names in the music industry, such as AC/DC, Blue Öyster Cult, Iggy Pop, Rory Gallagher, Metallica, Pat Benatar, R.E.M., Spirit, Poco, U2 and Dead Kennedys and John Cougar.


Track List:

1. Greatest Gifts From Heaven

2. Lo, Thou I Am With Thee

3. Kansas City Blues

4. Medley: Darktown Strutter's Ball, Mop Mop, Call Me A Dog

5. I'm Glad I'm Jewish

6. Eyesight To the Blind

7. Uncle Bob's Barrelhouse Blues

8. Jockey Blues

9. Linda Lou

10. Between A Hard Place And The Ground

11. Vamp In C (Soul Serenade)

12. Wee Wee Hours

Fur Peace Ranch 39495 St. Clair Rd. Pomeroy, OH 45769 · Information 740-992-2575 Tickets 740-992-6228