Catalog » CD & DVD's » DVD's » DVD - Muddy Waters 'Soundstage: Blues Summit Chicago 1974'
Click to enlarge

Muddy Waters and Friends Soundstage: Blues Summit In Chicago, 1974 is on DVD for the first time ever.

In July of 1974, a group of Chicago based blues artists, who had already achieved legendary status, gathered together with some of their younger blues brethren from all over the country to pay tribute to the man most responsible for bringing blues from the Mississippi Delta upriver to Chicago, Muddy Waters.

Soundstage: Blues Summit In Chicago, 1974 captures Muddy Waters along with his contemporaries Willie Dixon, Koko Taylor, Junior Wells and Pinetop Perkins. From the next generation of blues lovers and performers, Mike Bloomfield, Buddy Miles, Johnny Winter, Dr. John, Nick Gravenites are also featured - all artists who were on their way to becoming legends themselves. The result: a truly historic session that not only presented some of the greatest blues classics ever written, but a never-to-be-forgotten tribute to a remarkable artist.

Even more remarkable yet, on that July evening in 1974, Soundstage was born. This auspicious Muddy Waters tribute became the first-ever presentation of the public television show. Soundstage, created by Ken Ehrlich - who produced the show for half a decade - was destined to become one of the most admired performance-based series ever televised.


Track Listing:

1. Blow Wind Blow (Muddy Waters)

2. Long Distance Call (Muddy Waters)

3. Messin With The Kid (Nick Gravenites & Junior Wells)

4. Stop Breaking Down (Junior Wells)

5. Mannish Boy (Muddy Waters)

6. Wang Dang Doodle (Willie Dixon & Koko Taylor)

7. Walking Through The Park (Johnny Winter)

8. Hootchie Kootchie Man (Muddy Waters & Willie Dixon)

9. Sugar Sweet (Dr. John)

10. Got My Mojo Workin (Muddy Waters)

Artists Featured:
Mike Bloomfield, Phil Guy, Luther Snake Boy Johnson, Robert Margolin, Johnny Winter - Guitar
Jerry Portnoy, Junior Wells - Harmonica
Buddy Miles, Willie Big Eyes Smith - Drums
Calvin Fuzz Jones, Rollo Radford - Bass
Dr. John, Joe "Pine Top" Perkins (Piano)

Fur Peace Ranch 39495 St. Clair Rd. Pomeroy, OH 45769 · Information 740-992-2575 Tickets 740-992-6228