Catalog » CD & DVD's » Essential Music » CD - Classic Appalachian Blues from Smithsonian Folkways
Click to enlarge

This compilation features musicians from the region known as the Southern Appalachians. It includes musicians from deep in the mountains as well as from the foothills leading up to them. We have selected many of the recordings from the collection of Folkways Records founder, Moses Asch. On this release as on other recent ones, we have also begun to delve into some fine recordings from another source, the 43 years of recordings from the Smithsonian Folklife Festival (formerly Festival of American Folklife).

Various Artists


Track Listings

1. My Baby's Gone - Sticks McGhee
2. Louise Blues - Big Chief Ellis - (featuring Cephas & Wiggins)
3. Sitting on Top of the World - Doc Watson
4. Railroad Bill - John Jackson
5. Don't Let Your Deal Go Down - Bill Williams
6. You Don't Know My Mind - Pink Anderson
7. Blues around My Bed - J.C. Burris
8. Hesitation Blues - Reverend Gary Davis
9. Pawn Shop Blues - Brownie McGhee
10. Road is Rough & Rocky, The - Archie Edwards
11. Hoodoo Blues - Martin, Bogan & the Armstrongs
12. Red River Blues - Lesley Riddle
13. Walking Cane - Peg Leg Sam Jackson
14. One Dime Blues - Etta Baker
15. Mississippi Heavy Water Blues - Roscoe Holcomb
16. Outskirts of Town - Josh White
17. See What You Done Done - Baby Tate
18. I Got a Woman - Marvin Foddrell/Turner Foddrell
19. Girl Dressed in Green - John Tinsley
20. Blues in the Morning - E.C. Ball
21. Wine Blues (Drinkin' Wine Spo-Dee-Oh-Dee) - Sticks McGhee
Fur Peace Ranch 39495 St. Clair Rd. Pomeroy, OH 45769 · Information 740-992-2575 Tickets 740-992-6228